Joel Harden MPP / Député, Ottawa Centre

Government of Ontario

MPP Update #211: Let's beat the heat with climate solutions

Published on June 21, 2024

Wow, it’s been hot this week.

Yesterday the temperature hit 41 degrees celsius with the humidex, and it’s been at that level or more for several days. Ottawa Public Health issued a heat warning this week, pointing residents to an interactive map of places to cool off.

2023 was the hottest summer on record, and reports suggest 2024 will be more of the same.

It’s moments like this that remind us how equity and climate action go hand-in-hand. Why?

Because it’s vulnerable folks who suffer most as our planet warms. Like fixed income tenants without air conditioning, or kids and staff in our schools. Like homeless neighbours who shelter under bridges and parks, or seniors and people with disabilities without access to cool air.

I also think about farm workers, construction workers, road workers, first responders and others who must be outside for hours on end. We ask a lot of them.

And race is absolutely an issue here. Black, Indigenous, and people of colour figure prominently in populations and occupations without access to cool air in heat waves.

We need serious climate action if we truly care about these and other folks at risk. Thankfully, in recent days, climate advocates have made their presence felt in our city.

On June 6, the fossil fuel executives were summoned to the federal Environment and Sustainable Development Committee. In their presentations, they opposed measures to decrease pollution, like a cap on oil and gas emissions. Meanwhile, oil and gas make up 31% of Canada’s total emissions, and there has been no appreciable drop in this alarming number.

But Members of Parliament were not prepared to let that stand. MP Laurel Collins asked Suncor’s CEO Rich Kruger “how do you sleep at night?”

The question was posed after MP Collins noted the sector’s massive profits (2002 was $270 billion in revenue, and $67 billion in profits) and huge contributions to the climate crisis. Last year Kruger himself earned $36.8 million to lead Suncor.

Kruger’s response was predictable. He challenged the numbers cited, and claimed MP Collins was insulting energy workers in oil and gas. Nothing could be further from the truth.

MP Collins was insisting that oil and gas CEOs support real climate solutions. To stop their campaigns of misinformation, and their refusal to take responsibility for harm caused. It is a similar question faced by CEOs in tobacco, pharmaceuticals, and social media.

This pattern repeated itself a week later when bank CEOs were summoned to the same federal committee to answer for their role in financing the growth of fossil fuels.

MP Matthew Green challenged David McKay, head of RBC (Canada’s largest bank), for crowing about  climate progress while “continuing to be one of the largest financiers of fossil fuels in the world.” RBC was the biggest financier of development in the oil sands in 2023.

“This is a transition”, was Mckay’s reply. “We are not getting off fossil-based fuels immediately. To stop is just not an option for us. We have to commit to funding green sources of energy.”

Of course, this wasn’t an answer to MP Green’s question. No serious person talks about ending all use of fossil fuels immediately. That’s a classic straw man argument.

Let’s beat the heat with climate solutions. On that score, a federal cap on oil and gas emissions is a great first step. Take a moment, and urge Prime Minister Trudeau to make this a priority.

My very best,

--

Local author Maggie North launches Rules for Second Chances

Rules for Second Chances is a romance/women's fiction novel perfect for readers of Annabel Monaghan and Emily Henry. 

Brimming with heart and heat, it asks the hardest relationship question of all: can true love happen twice...with the same person? For more information, visit https://www.maggienorth.com/ 

You can interact with Maggie North in person at these upcoming events!

June 25th, 12PM EST: Instagram live @mnorthauthor (in conversation with bestselling author Annabel Monaghan)

June 25th, 7PM: book launch event at Perfect Books, 258A Elgin Street (in conversation with international bestselling author Amy Lea)

July 6th, 1-3PM: meet and greet/book signing at Indigo Pinecrest  

Stop the privatization of health care signs

If you would like to get one of these lawn signs, please contact the Ottawa Health Coalition at  [email protected]

The OHC is working hard to get as many lawn signs out as possible but it does entail a significant cost. Each English sign is $6.50 and each Bilingual sign is $7.10. The OHC is asking folks to consider making a $5 contribution to help cover the costs of the lawn signs.

 


 

Il fait vraiment chaud dehors.

Hier, la température a atteint 41 degrés Celsius avec l'indice humidex, et elle se maintient à ce niveau ou plus depuis plusieurs jours. Santé publique Ottawa a émis un avertissement de chaleur cette semaine, indiquant aux résidents une carte interactive des endroits où se rafraîchir.

L'année 2023 a été l'été le plus chaud jamais enregistré, et les rapports suggèrent que l'année 2024 sera du même acabit.

Ce sont des moments comme celui-ci qui nous rappellent que l'équité et l'action climatique vont de pair. Pourquoi ?

Parce que ce sont les personnes vulnérables qui souffrent le plus du réchauffement de la planète. Comme les locataires à revenu fixe sans climatisation, ou les enfants et le personnel de nos écoles. Comme les sans-abri qui s'abritent sous les ponts et dans les parcs, ou les personnes âgées et les personnes handicapées qui n'ont pas accès à de l'air frais.

Je pense aussi aux travailleurs agricoles, aux ouvriers du bâtiment, aux routiers, aux premiers intervenants et à tous ceux qui doivent rester dehors pendant des heures. Nous leur demandons beaucoup.

Et la question raciale est tout à fait d'actualité. Comme je l'ai entendu, les Noirs, les autochtones et les personnes de couleur figurent en bonne place parmi les populations et les professions qui n'ont pas accès à l'air frais lors des vagues de chaleur.

Nous avons besoin d'une action climatique sérieuse si nous nous préoccupons vraiment de ces personnes et d'autres personnes à risque. Heureusement, ces derniers jours, les défenseurs du climat ont fait sentir leur présence dans notre ville.

Le 6 juin, les dirigeants du secteur des combustibles fossiles ont été convoqués à la commission fédérale de l'environnement et du développement durable. Dans leurs présentations, ils se sont opposés aux mesures visant à réduire la pollution, comme le plafonnement des émissions de pétrole et de gaz. En effet, le pétrole et le gaz représentent 31 % des émissions totales du Canada, et ce chiffre alarmant n'a pas baissé de manière appréciable. 

Mais les députés n'étaient pas prêts à laisser faire. La députée Laurel Collins a demandé au PDG de Suncor, Rich Kruger, "comment dormez-vous la nuit ?".

La question a été posée après que la députée Collins ait noté les profits considérables du secteur (en 2002, les revenus s'élevaient à 270 milliards de dollars et les profits à 67 milliards de dollars) et ses contributions considérables à la crise climatique. L'année dernière, M. Kruger a gagné 36,8 millions de dollars pour diriger Suncor.

La réponse de M. Kruger était prévisible. Il a contesté les chiffres cités et a affirmé que le député Collins insultait les travailleurs du secteur de l'énergie, du pétrole et du gaz. Rien n'est plus faux.

Le député Collins a insisté sur le fait que les représentants des entreprises pétrolières et gazières soutiennent les vraies solutions climatiques. Ils doivent mettre fin à leurs campagnes de désinformation et à leur refus d'assumer la responsabilité des dommages causés. C'est une question similaire à laquelle sont confrontés les PDG du tabac, des produits pharmaceutiques et des médias sociaux.

Ce schéma s'est répété une semaine plus tard, lorsque les PDG des banques ont été convoqués devant la même commission fédérale pour répondre de leur rôle dans le financement de la croissance des combustibles fossiles.

Le député Matthew Green a reproché à David McKay, directeur de RBC (la plus grande banque du Canada), de se vanter des progrès accomplis en matière de climat tout en "continuant à être l'un des plus grands financiers des combustibles fossiles dans le monde". En 2023, RBC était le principal bailleur de fonds de l'exploitation des sables bitumineux.

"Il s'agit d'une transition", a répondu M. Mckay. "Nous ne nous passerons pas immédiatement des combustibles fossiles. Il n'est pas question pour nous d'arrêter. Nous devons nous engager à financer des sources d'énergie verte."

Bien entendu, il ne s'agissait pas d'une réponse à la question du député Green. Aucune personne sérieuse ne parle de mettre fin immédiatement à l'utilisation des combustibles fossiles. C'est un argument de l’homme de paille classique.  

Il faut plutôt lutter contre la chaleur avec des solutions climatiques. À cet égard, un plafond fédéral sur les émissions de pétrole et de gaz est un excellent premier pas. Prenez un moment pour demander au Premier ministre Trudeau d'en faire une priorité.

Mes meilleurs voeux,

--

L'auteure locale Maggie North lance  Rules for Second Chances  (Règles pour les secondes chances)

Rules for Second Chances est un roman d'amour et de fiction féminine qui conviendra parfaitement aux lecteurs d'Annabel Monaghan et d'Emily Henry. Débordant de cœur et de chaleur, il pose la question la plus difficile qui soit en matière de relations : le véritable amour peut-il se produire deux fois... avec la même personne ? Pour plus d'informations, visitez https://www.maggienorth.com/

Des panneaux pour cesser la privatisation des soins de santé

Si vous souhaitez obtenir l'un de ces panneaux, veuillez contacter la Coalition pour la santé d'Ottawa à l'adresse [email protected].

La CSO s'efforce de distribuer le plus grand nombre possible de pancartes, mais cela représente un coût important. Chaque panneau anglais coûte 6,50 $ et chaque panneau bilingue coûte 7,10 $. Le CSO demande aux gens d'envisager de faire une contribution de 5 $ pour aider à couvrir les coûts des panneaux de pelouse.